Skip to content

Another Account from a Rescue Team Worker

January 25, 2010

I had the time to speak with a NY rescue worker a few days ago.  They’re the Brooklyn kind that I am familiar with from home, and so we got straight to the chase and began to find comfort in sharing the same stomping grounds.

The rescue worker I spoke with was pretty shocked and upset about the situation behind rescue protocol.  I have been going back ad forth, deciding whether I should add this information to the blog, and I believe that it is important, and that those who have perished deserve to have this story be told.

“When we first got here like 3 days ago…we landed and they had no missions for us.  We were ready to get off the plane and go because we’re armed to the t with everything we have and we’re ready to go.”  “This is bullshit,” my fellow New Yorker exclaimed.

If that’s not enough the rescue worker talked about how four women from World Vision came up the them at the Airport base saying there were people, 16 people, alive under rubble at the Caribe market.  My source continued, “I said give me the information and I go back to my guys and they’re not letting us go and I’m telling them that this is bullshit.  So anyways, we go up to them and tell them we’re going regardless of your support and we went and we got four people out of there and they were still alive.  We got a 7-year-old girl out, her mother, and her dad.  We’re doing good things you know.”

No matter what you hear I love my fellow NY’ers.  I love how we don’t follow rules, how our firefighters are ready to risk their lives, and aren’t in it for the bullshit politics.

Thank you NY.

Your invitation to a Haitian dinner at my house is still on the table.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. ldaph permalink
    January 28, 2010 7:24 pm

    Who is “they”?

    • January 28, 2010 9:14 pm

      If you’re referring to who the rescue workers were taking orders from, I believe it was from the UN.

      • ldaph permalink
        January 28, 2010 10:49 pm

        Could you have this confirmed?
        It has been sort of confusing to understand who was in charge at the airport. The Americans? the UN? the Haitian government?
        Were the responsibilities broken down amongst them? How?

      • January 31, 2010 1:01 pm

        All I can say is I spoke directly with the rescue workers that were from New York and this is word for word what was said. I transcribed it and so the quotes are officially quotes. OCHA was coordinating at first. They told me that they received their orders from the UN.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Another Account from a Rescue Team Worker « Bagay Dwol Journal -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

