Skip to content

Bebe Dezod

February 1, 2010

If you read my previous post yesterday about the 7-month pregnant woman we spent hours with trying to get to a hospital than you find some inspiration in this post.  She said she was bleeding, and it turns out that it was her water that broke.  I gave her sister my phone number who also accompanied us as we drove around from hospital to hospital, trying to find a facility that could care for her.

Good News

She delivered the baby yesterday at Medecin Sans Frontier and had a baby boy!  We called him “bebe dezod” in the car, which means  mischievous baby because he put so many people through a lot to be born.  The story started with Dr Don, Lynn, Dr Binard, Vivian, Diane, Phoebe, Geralda, Frenzy and I doing a medical clinic further up in the hills.  There were two patients that could not wait to be treated and so while everyone continued with the medical clinic, Cheveboule and I decided to go and find a hospital.  I had been coordinating hospital contacts and so I made a few phonecalls.  John Moore of Goal International said we could bring the patients to Merlin, one of the mobile clinics in Delmas 33.  We did.  Little did we know they only handle orthopedics, surgery, fractures, etc…

They were able to take the 14-year-old with the dislocated shoulder and fractured hip and were not able to care for the pregnant woman who said she had been bleeding since this morning.  Cheveboule gave the young girl and her mother money for a taxi ride home, and off we went with our pregnant patient to find another hospital.  We were already an hour and a half into the trip and I could see the look on the patient’s face was intensifying.  She said she was having lower abdominal pain, which immediately signaled to me that she was having contractions.  I called up Lynn after not having success with any of the contacts in obstetrics and she advised us to head to Matthew House in Delmas 33.  We got there and I spoke with Sister Mary, who spoke to a few of the docs at the medical clinic, and we were able to find an obstetrics medical professional.

We moved a mattress onto the table and they pulled out a birthing kit.  The patient lay on the mattress and the nurse began to talk to her as I translated.  It turns out that they could not do any invasive examinations because her placenta may have shifted.  This means if anyone was to try and examine her by “going in” they would have ruptured the babys sac and mother and baby would die.  We needed a sonogram, or some type of device where they could see what exactly was going on with the baby.

The woman told me and the nurse that she had seen a doctor at 3 months and her next appointment was for 6 months, which was when the event happened.  That’s what we call the earthquake now: the event. The nurse and I quickly realized that she may not be as close as we thought and may just be entering her 7th month.  The obstetrician explained that at such a young stage the baby cannot breathe on its own and we needed to find the right facility or else the baby wouldn’t stand a chance.  Again, I made a few more phone calls and finally spoke with the head of the Belgium Medecin Sans Frontier.  The obstetrician from Matthew House wrote a note about her findings after the initial examination, and I made sure to not only pass this note off but to clearly explain to the nurse, orderly and whomever else I left her with at MSF that they should not, by any means, go inside of her to do an examination.

There’s a lot of miscommunication right now and so it was important to be extremely clear and have everyone understand her situation and have them repeat the directions back to me.  I walked away feeling like she and the fetus were in good hands and left her sister my phone number.  We were all praying that she didn’t have the baby because of the complications that might arise and the uncertainty over having the proper equipment.

I got a call yeasterday, late afternoon from our patient’s sister.  The pregnant woman is now a first time mom, and the baby boy is alive.  She pushed and had a normal delivery and “baby dezod” is now on a machine because at his stage of life lungs are not fully developed yet.  I shared the news with everyone after the medical clinic yesterday and we all were grateful.

Had we not done the medical clinic that day, the baby would have been born on the street and the baby and mom would have died because of the sensitivity of her pre-term situation.  The universe put everything in place for mother and child to survive.  I plan on going to visit them before I leave.  We named the baby Lyndon (for Lynn and Don), and the mother told me he doesn’t have a name quite yet, so between us this is what we call him.

Again, this is why we need medical clinics in every corner of the country, including the areas that are dense, communities that are hard to reach, and communities that people are reluctant to go to.  You never know what you may find, but you always know that you will save lives.  We saved two very special ones with mother and “bebe dezod”.

Medical teams…I’m waiting for you.  Contact me directly.  I have about ten sites all coordinated and waiting for aid.  Security is not an issue and the people will welcome you with open arms and even help.  I even have medical supplies waiting for you.  Please contact me at:

Email: regine.zamor@gmail.com Haiti: 36371306

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2010 7:12 pm

    Chicago is home to so many great doctors, my personal OBGYN is John Weitzner

    • February 23, 2010 5:53 am

      Thanks Kimberly for reading and for sharing your docs information.

Leave a Reply

