Skip to content

Its All Love: Orphanges & Community Building

March 10, 2010

A lot has happened in the past two days.  First, I want to acknowledge all of the healing hands in Haiti right now.  I want to acknowledge the goal-oriented collaboration, the sharing, kindness and love that so many of us are moving with here.  Again, your local community based orgs are doing something special, so please give them your support.

Over the past few days I have been re-establishing my relationships with many of the local, grassroots and bigger organizations.  I have visited several orphanages, youth programs, and street children facilities in the Carrefour Feuilles area.  They are in dire need of programs and so I am working on it…the closer I get to achieving this the more support I will need from you.  Stay tuned…

Here are a few photos and captions from the past two days.

One of 5 classrooms built by Muslim Hands with the Help of Muslims of Trinidad & Tobago.

They are looking to get more chairs, so that 100 students can attend in the morning, and another 100 can attend in the afternoon.

Roselene with Baby Roza in her tent which was given to her by Richard Morse, after someone on twitter mentioned that a new mother had no shelter.

One of the best tents I have seen on the streets. Follow ramhaiti on twitter...it works!

Roselene came to the Oloffson hotel to ask Richard to name the baby with her. They chose Roze.

People w/o housing took it upon themselves to build small shacks after the earthquake. Before I left there were just a few...now an entire area has sprung up.

Clearing the way for the new site of the school that Muslim Hands is building in Delmas 24. It will be ready on Friday!

Here is the lot...I'll take a photo of the school after its built as well.

Muslim Hands banner at the Delmas 31 school they built.

Collaborating is a daily occurance. Neesh from Grassroots United, Mark of International Action Ties, and Muslim Hands, and I visiting sites & assuring that students have food.

This is the Bolonger area...it is completely destroyed and a site where I found a school/orphange/youth program.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Irfan Khan permalink
    March 27, 2010 6:35 pm

    Hai bagaydwol,

    Glad to see the pictures of Muslim Hands school. My Name is Irfan Khan and i was the one who initiated the school program for Msulim Hands in Haiti. I arrived back in london yesterday after spending almost two months there, we have done three schools so far and i am planning to establish few more on my return (which i guess would be after 15-20 days time).

    Let me know if you need any more information about the schools and keep the good work of sharing the information going.

    best

    Irfan
    +4407950442776 (UK mobile)

    • March 27, 2010 10:06 pm

      Irfan,

      Glad to hear you arrived safely. It’s Regine. I look forward to your return and will continue to share the work that Muslim Hands has been contributing to Haiti. In Solidarity, Regine

Leave a Reply

